Friday, May 1, 2009


click on the image to see larger version
The complete list of 25 most powerful politicians is as follows -

1. Sharad Pawar (68) NCP +1
2. Bal Thackeray (82) SS -1
3. Ashok Chavan (50) INC 0
4. Chhagan Bhujbal (60) NCP 0
5. Gopinath Munde (59) BJP 0
6. Uddhav Thackeray (48) SS 0
7. Raj Thackeray (39) MNS 0
8. Vilasrao Deshmukh (63) INC 0
9. Narayan Rane (56) INC 0
10. Ajitdada Pawar (49) NCP 0
11. R R Patil (52) NCP 0
12. Nitin Gadkari (60) BJP 0
13. Praful Patel (53) NCP 0
14. Ramdas Athavale (55) RPI 0
15. Prakash Ambedkar (51) RPI 0
16. Vinay Kore (37) JSP 0
17. Murli Deora (71) INC 0
18. Gurudas Kamat (51) INC 0
19. Sushilkumar Shinde (66) INC 0
20. Balasaheb Vikhe-Patil (76) INC 0
21. Manohar Joshi (71) SS 0
22. Vijaysingh Mohite Patil (64) NCP 0
23. Vinod Tawde (45) BJP 0
24. Jayant Patil (46) NCP 0
25. N D Patil (78) PWP 0

Party Code

BJP – Bharatiya Janata Party
INC – Indian National Congress
JSS – Jana Surajya Shakti
MNS – Maharashtra Navanirman Sena
NCP – Nationalist Congress Party
PWP – Peasants & Workers Party (Shetkari Kamgar Paksha)
RPI – Republican Party of India (any faction)
SS – Shiv Sena

Movement on the MahaPol ladder –
0 : Zero indicates that there has been no change in the ranking over the previous month.
+X : Plus indicates improvement in ranking over last month and ‘x’ indicates how many ranks he/ she has moved upwards.
-X : Minus indicates degradation in ranking over last month and ‘x’ indicates how many ranks he/ she has moved downwards.

To understand the methodology used for the ranking click here.
The figure in bracket indicates the age of the politician.

  • This probably the “most boring” post since the inception of MahPol Powerlist… except for exchange of the top two posts between Sharad Pawar and Balasaheb Thackeray, there is not change in the list. Pawar has been propelled by the fact that from Jayalalitha to Mulayam to Patnaik many regional parties are voicing support for his Prime ministerial candidature.
  • But just wait till the May 16 results and you may see a radically changed list next time… especially some key Congressmen look vulnerable!

    MahaPol can be directly contacted on


Mahesh Vijapurkar said...

Boring or no, the list is quite in order. Despite the perceived lack of credibility, Sharad Pawar is easily the tallest leader Maharashtra has. Others, including Bal Thackeray, are pygmies - some relatively so, others just pygmies.

Pawar and Thackeray, despite one leading the other, cannot be put in the same bracket. The former has a vision, a perspective and perhaps even an action plan. The other has words, capacity to rouse the rabble and aleast sophistication.

It is good Pawar has an Opposition in Maharashtra which constitutes largely of what I call the counter-elite which developed out of those left out from the system of pagtronage which Congress (NCP is a clone of that now).

I agree with the rankings.

Mahesh Vijapurkar (

BharGo said...

May 16 will tell us the true "height" of Mr. Pawar!

amit said...

Who's said sharad pawar is No.1 person in Maharashtra. This is all bakavas survey.

on 16th may it all will understand that where is sharad pawar... his party leader commenting that pawar will be next PM. But i think they dont know to become PM having 272 MP's.

There is any settlement done by Pawar & Co.?

Anonymous said...

6 INC candidates in the top 25 shows the dire state of the party in Maharashtra. Keep on practicing dynasty politics, keep on swindling the common man and without long even those 6 will disappear.

Pawar is the only candidate to at least try for the top job in India, for this alone he should be the numero uno.


Blog Widget by LinkWithin