Saturday, January 30, 2010

ह्याला ठोकरे... त्याला ठोकरे...

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Mumbai Monorail

Mr. Raj Thackeray… what is this? The Mumbai Monorail Dabba has “Mumbai Monorail” written in English! Considering Mumbai is the capital of Maharashtra it should be in Marathi… मुंबई मोनोरेल! Correct or not?

No… Baba… No… You cannot just write it in Devnagari Script… it has to be translated in Marathi… So what do you call 'Monorail' in Marathi? Hmmmm… एकेरी लोहमार्ग?

Now can MMRDA design a logo for मुंबई एकेरीलोहमार्ग?

Thursday, January 21, 2010

The Ghaatis strike back!

When 3M was a child, the troika of theatres in Fort (Regal, Sterling & Eros) was the last bastion of English films in the City. Then sometime in the mid 90s with the advent of Amir Khan’s Rangeela, Eros opened its door to Indian Films (Read Hindi). Now after 73 years of its existence, they have finally opened their doors to Marathi Films… with Natrang!

3M can see the guardians of SoBo culture squirming in their seats!

Friday, January 1, 2010


click on the image to see larger version

The complete list of 25 most powerful politicians is as follows -
1. Sharad Pawar (68) NCP 0
2. Raj Thackeray (41) MNS 0
3. Balasaheb Thackeray (82) SS 0
4. Ashok Chavan (50) INC 0
5. Ajitdada Pawar (49) NCP 0
6. Gopinath Munde (59) BJP 0
7. Nitin Gadkari (60) BJP 0
8. Vilasrao Deshmukh (63) INC 0
9. Chhagan Bhujbal (60) NCP 0
10. Uddhav Thackeray (48) SS 0
11. Narayan Rane (56) INC +1
12. R R Patil (52) NCP -1
13. Murli Deora (71) INC 0
14. Gurudas Kamat (51) INC 0
15. Prakash Ambedkar (51) RPI 0
16. Sushilkumar Shinde (66) INC 0
17. Praful Patel (53) NCP 0
18. Ramdas Athavale (55) RPI 0
19. Vinay Kore (37) JSP 0
20. Balasaheb Vikhe-Patil (76) INC 0
21. Vinod Tawde (45) BJP 0
22. Manohar Joshi (71) SS 0
23. Vijaysingh Mohite Patil (64) NCP 0
24. Supriya Sule (39) NCP 0
25. Vilas Muttemwar (68) Cong New

Party Code
BJP – Bharatiya Janata Party
INC – Indian National Congress
IND – Independent
JSS – Jana Surajya Shakti
MNS – Maharashtra Navanirman Sena
NCP – Nationalist Congress Party
PWP – Peasants & Workers Party (Shetkari Kamgar Paksha)
RPI – Republican Party of India (any faction)
SS – Shiv Sena

Movement on the MahaPol ladder –
0 : Zero indicates that there has been no change in the ranking over the previous month.
+X : Plus indicates improvement in ranking over last month and ‘x’ indicates how many ranks he/ she has moved upwards.
-X : Minus indicates degradation in ranking over last month and ‘x’ indicates how many ranks he/ she has moved downwards.

To understand the methodology used for the ranking click here.
The figure in bracket indicates the age of the politician.

  • Pradhan committee’s report has affected RR’s political stature. Also the unutilized Police Welfare fund of Rs. 100 Crs is proving to be a millstone around his neck!
  • Devisinh Sekhawat was unable to maintain his new found status as he lost the Rs.300 Crs Orange processing plant to Nanded instead of Amravati.
  • But another Vidharbhaite has replaced Shekhawat by emerging as the champion for a separate Vidarbha State… and he is Vilas Muttemwar, the MP from Nagpur.
MahaPol can be directly contacted on


Blog Widget by LinkWithin