Monday, February 20, 2012

Jyotirling Darshan on Mahashivaratri

Maharashtra is lucky to have 5 out of the 12 Jyotirlings of Lord Shiva. But most of us might not be aware of their location. So 3M has created a map giving the exact locations!

Aundha Nagnath in Hingoli District
Bhimashankar in Pune District
Grushneshwar in Aurangabad District
Parali Vaijanath in Beed District
Trimbakeshwar in Nashik District

View 5 Jyotirlings in Maharashtra in a larger map

3M TRIVIA: Most people are aware that most of the temples destroyed by Muslims were rebuilt by Devi Ahilyabai Holkar, the dowager Maratha queen of Indore which includes Jyotrilings outside Maharashtra like Kashi Vishweshwar, Omkareshwar, Mahakaleshwar, Kedarnath etc. But very few people are aware that one of the Gopurams of Srisailam Jyotirling was built by Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj during his "Dakshin Digvijay" (Southern Conquests). Sadly this gopuram is in very poor condition currently!

No comments:


Blog Widget by LinkWithin